The 39th Annual National Magazine Awards
The National Magazine Awards Foundation is a bilingual, not-for-profit institution whose mission is to recognize and promote excellence in the content and creation of Canadian print and digital publications through an annual program of awards and national publicity efforts.
  • Dec 8: Call for Submissions
  • Jan 11: Early-Bird Deadline
  • Jan 15: Final Submissions Deadline
  • Mar 1: Outstanding Achievement
  • May 2: Announcement of Finalists
  • Jun 10: 39th National Magazine Awards


Check out our Facebook for photos from past NMA Galas


The 39th annual National Magazine Awards

The Call for Entries for the 2015 National Magazine Awards will open on Tuesday, December 8. This year, magazines and creators can submit their best work from 2015 for awards in 39 written, visual, integrated and special categories. 


[ Categories ]  [ Rules ]  [ FAQ


Early-Bird Deadline: January 11, 2015
Final Deadline:
January 15, 2015


In addition to reviewing the categories, rules and FAQ, before you submit you will need the following:

Name and email of the author/creator and editor/art director of each piece;
Title, date and publication of each piece;
PDF of each piece (printable, single-page spreads 8.5 x 11 for written categories; single- or double-page spreads for all others);
Method of payment (cheque or credit card);
Statement of editorial mandate (for new magazines and for certain categories).


Small Magazine Rebate
Are you a small magazine publisher? This year the NMAF is offering the second entry FREE to all magazines (print and digital) with under $200,000 annual revenue. 
Digital Categories
Digital content from tablet magazines and magazine websites is eligible in most written, visual, integrated and special categories. Digital publications can enter their work to the Digital Publishing Awards, a new bilingual program created specifically for digital content. The Call for Entries for the DPAs will be announced shortly.   

Join the NMA Jury

Judging the National Magazine awards is a rewarding experience and a great learning opportunity. The NMAF is currently accepting candidates to serve as judges for the 39th National Magazine Awards. Read more about the judging process and how to nominate yourself or your colleagues.

Best New Creators

Are you (or is one of your creators) an emerging magazine talent? The NMAF recognizes new talent to the magazine industry with the awards for Best New Magazine Writer and Best New Magazine Photographer. The entry fees for these awards are only $25 per person (plus HST). 

How to Create Award-Winning Content

Five experts from the Canadian magazine industry shared their secrets to creating award-winning magazine content. Great tips from Carole Beaulieu, Sarah Fulford, David Hayes, Domenic Macri and Patrick Walsh.  

Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement

Each year the NMAF awards its highest individual honour--the Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement--to an individual whose innovation and creativity in the Canadian magazine industry is exemplary. The deadline for nominations, welcome from the entire industry, is March 1. Read more about this award and how to nominate a candidate.

Off the Page: Interviews with Winners

In our Off the Page series, the NMAF chats with National Magazine Award finalists and winners about their craft, their career and their perspective on the industry. Recently we chatted with:

Hudson Christie, 2015 Gold Medalist for Best New Illustrator or Photographer. 

Nicolas Langelier, publisher & editor-in-chief of Nouveau Projet, 2015 Magazine of the Year. 

Finalists & Winners

Nominations will be announced on May 2, and the 39th annual National Magazine Awards gala will be held on June 10. Follow us on Twitter and on the Magazine Awards blog for news and updates.

Winners' Circle

On November 25, the NMAF welcomed more than 70 National Magazine Award winners and nominees to an exclusive event--Winners' Circle--to meet, mingle, network and learn. Check out our complete event recap on Storify